Monday 13 October 2014

Dead Girl Walking (Royal Reaper #1) by Ruth Silver

Published: April 27 by Patchwork Press
Pages: 242


Forget everything you know about grim reapers. Princess Ophelia Dacre sneaks out of the castle to visit her boyfriend in secret. A perfect night cut short when she's brutally murdered. Ophelia is given the rare chance to become a grim reaper. She must become Leila Bele, cut ties with her old life, and follow the rules of the reapers. Her greatest adventure begins with death. 


Ruth Silver has done it again! I devoured this book in one sitting, it starts with some action in the first chapter, and never ends!

We meet Princess Ophelia when she is sneaking out of the castle to meet her boyfriend Larkin. They go to a pub where she believes that no one knows who she is, and they are having ale and going to dance. She goes to use the latrine outside and when she reaches it, she is suddenly murdered. 

She then meets Edon, who tells her that she has been chosen to be a grim reaper. She does not believe what is happening to her, she does not think that she has been murdered, and wants Edon to put her back in her body and bring her back to life, though he cannot do that.

He brings her back to the asylum where all the other grim reapers live. She is introduced to some of them, and she immediately moves in to a house with some of the other girls. 

This is when the story picks up and she starts to get her assignments, and she learns very quickly what happens if she decides to ignore one of them.

I loved all the characters in this book, and the plot, everything was bang on, and cannot wait for the second installment in the series.

If you are looking for a YA paranormal with something a little different, this one is for you! I give it a 4/5!

No comments:

Post a Comment